Dream Revival

Goals, goals and more goals. I am riddled with goals. I guess this isn’t the worst problem to have, unless you are married to someone like me. I am sure my husband gets a little put out by all of my goals that I want to include him in. He seems to be a pretty good sport though. He is a good filter with which to pour my ideas through, and I think he’s learned through the years that if he just let’s me air them, and let’s my words hang in air without rebuttals or rebuke, many of them dissipate into the chasms of my  imagination never to return. It’s when he finds immediate issue with my ideas that it becomes more an insatiable desire for me to help him understand why this is the best idea I’ve ever had and how it will lend itself to our eventual fulfillment in life. On the other hand, I keep things spicy, I think he likes that part of it.

Homeschooling and work limit a lot of my goals but I would like to try to find a way to assign them some level of importance and pick them off one at a time over the next year. Here are a few ideas that I can’t shake right now:

  1. Audition for commercial and print, basically get an agent. At the very least it means send in a headshot, resume and video demo. This won’t really be hard to do and if I can get my foot in the door at least I’ve tried.
  2. Sign up for a run or a triathlon this summer.
  3. Lose 60 lbs, give or take, I just want to be comfortable and to trust God for my every need, including food.
  4. Research and complete 10 podcasts. I am just throwing that number out there. I am not 100% sure what the podcast would be about but obviously would include some talk about homeschooling, life, motherhood, Christianity, fashion, vintage things, exercise, healthy living, food, midwestern KC stuff. Basically things I like.
  5. Keep up with this blog. I would like to post at least once a week, I have to make this a priority. I’ve wrestled with changing my blog name but for now I am staying put.

Goals are good, they keep us moving forward, they keep our minds fresh and our imaginations reeling. There are some seasons of life when our goals are just to make it through the day, and that’s ok. I think it’s important in those seasons to keep a running list of things we are grateful for and press into them. If we persevere we will make it to the other side, the path beyond, and we will find ourselves recharged and aware of just how much we are capable of.

If God is the author of life then I believe he is the creator of all my heart longs for. He deposits those desires into our hearts and watches for the sprouts of life to bloom. Our deepest desires and ideas form who we our at our core, these things make us unique and at full bloom can be used to glorify him. It’s an awesome concept to think about how the creator of the world designed us with innate abilities and potential for greatness. I believe that He wants us to reach out to him, when we are at a loss and feeling overwhelmed, when there is no desire to fulfill dreams or even to ponder them. It is in those times that he wants to work the soil, repair the heart, water the roots, trim the suckers. We are his fruit, we are his crop, and he takes pride in us, but we have to ask. This is His gift to us, free will.

What dreams have abandon? Can you find a way to rekindle those longings of yesterday and how you might set a course to accomplish a few?  Find a small notebook, any one will do. Write down three things you would like to do this year, they don’t have to be huge things, just three small ideas that would ignite your heart. Three ideas, and then list the ways you might accomplish them over the next year. Pray that God will show you how accomplishing these goals will glorify him and renew your faith. It’s ok to dream big, but sometimes, just uncovering old goals lost along the path are enough to reinvigorate your passions.

I believe in you, but more importantly, God believes in you.

Take delight in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart. Psalm 37:4  

 

 

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Christianity, God stuff, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Respond

